When does my license expire?
Licenses issued effective 10/17/2019 and thereafter will expire two years after the original date of issuance:
- for existing license holders, the renewal deadline will continue to be on the same date as it is currently
- for new license holders this means renewal will occur on the two-year anniversary of initial issuance and every two years thereafter
- pro-rated CME applies only to initial licenses issued prior to 10/17/2019 with less than 18 months of licensure
L1 permits issued effective 10/17/2019 and thereafter will expire one year after the original date of issuance
- for existing L1 permit holders, the renewal deadline will continue to be on the same date as it is currently
L2 permits expire annually on 6/30.
When can I renew my license?
At least one month before a license expires, the State Medical Board of Ohio (SMBO) shall provide to the license holder a renewal notice. Failure of any license holder to receive a notice of renewal from the board shall not excuse the holder from the requirements contained in this section. Each license holder shall give notice to the board of a change in the holder’s residence address, business address, or electronic mail address not later than thirty days after the change occurs.
How do I renew my license?
Ohio licenses may be renewed online. See the “License Renewal” link below.
How many CEUs does Ohio require?
Applicants for license renewal must complete 20 contact hours of relevant RCCE every two years, beginning with the license renewal date and ending on the license expiration date. The requirements include one contact hour of RCCE on Ohio respiratory care law or professional ethics (see below), at least 15 contact hours related to the provision of clinical respiratory care, and the remaining four contact hours may include indirectly related content, including, but not limited to, activities relevant to specialized aspects of respiratory care, such as education, supervision, management, health care cost containment, cost management, health quality standards, disease prevention, health promotion, or abuse reporting.
You can take one of our ethics courses to satisfy the requirement for one contact hour of RCCE on Ohio respiratory care law or professional ethics.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
You can obtain all of your CEUs online. We offer Real-Time Live Broadcast, Recorded Live Credit Courses, and our Self-Directed (available 24/7) courses. See our Discounts page for special offers (including Unlimited CEUs).
Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the State Medical Board of Ohio (SMBO)?
Our courses are approved by the AARC and therefore accepted by the SMBO.
How much does my renewal cost?
Renewal Fee: $75
Late Renewal Fee: $100
Restoration Fee: $125
Transaction Fee: $3.50
The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.