When does my license expire?
Respiratory licenses expire every even year on May 31st. The renewal period runs from June 1 of even numbered years through May 31 of the next even-numbered year.
How do I renew my license?
You need your social security number and your online licensing (login page linked below) username and password. If you do not have an account yet, you may search for your records with your date of birth and SSN.
How many CEUs does Massachusetts require?
A total of 15 contact hours of continuing education, not more than six of which shall be in correspondence courses and not more than four shall be in a recredentialing examination, within the continuing education period, are required for license renewal.
The requires that respiratory therapists take 1 contact hour in each of the following subjects:
- Improving Medical Records and Record Keeping
- Reducing Medical Errors
- Professional Conduct and Ethics
- Improving Communications
- Preventative Medicine
- Healthcare Quality Improvement
- Recognizing and Preventing Patient Abuse
- Patient Safety and Infection Control
*Note on subject requirements: In December of 2018, we noticed that the MSRC website reads that continuing education is defined as the variety of learning experiences meant to enhance the knowledge of respiratory therapists, enabling them to provide safe, and effective respiratory care to patients. Continuing education may also be used to define learning experiences related to the education and management of respiratory therapists and respiratory therapy services, health promotion and disease management, patient safety, health care cost containment, healthcare law and ethics and emergency preparedness. There is no mention of the above categories. We have contacted the MA Board to clarify, but have been unable to get a response.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Only 15 contact hours may be completed through on-line classes.
Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the Massachusetts Respiratory Board?
Yes, our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the Massachusetts Respiratory Board.
How much does my renewal cost?
License renewal is $110. The late renewal fee is $57, in addition to the renewal fee. The handling charge for returned checks is $23. The Board accepts checks or credit cards as payment. Make checks payable to “Commonwealth of Massachusetts”.
Board Contact Information
239 Causeway Street Suite 500, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Massachusetts Society for Respiratory Care Contact Information
PO Box 61
Whitman, MA 02382
The information contained in this document was as accurate as possible at the time of publication. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither the author, Respiratory Associates of Texas, nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.