When does my license expire?
Kansas respiratory licenses expire on March 31 every year.
When can I renew my license?
The renewal period begins February 15 and ends April 1. Late renewals may be submitted through April 30.
How do I renew my license?
You may renew online, download a paper renewal form on the Kansas Board of Healing Arts (KBHA) website, or contact KBHA to have a renewal form mailed to you.
To renew online, you will need your KBHA license number, birth date, last 4 digits of your social security number, name, license number of all healthcare professionals who supervise you (if required), continuing education hours, and payment.
How many CEUs does Kansas require?
For Kansas RTs a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education for the preceding one year period is required.
From Section 100-55-7 (f) (2) (Continuing education; license renewal) of the KBHA Statutes and Regulations: “At least six contact hours shall be obtained each reporting year from seminars or symposiums that provide for direct interaction between the speakers and the participants.” For live credit hours of this type, you must take our Real-Time Live Broadcast courses (CEUs > Real-Time Live Broadcast).
From Section 100-55-7 (f) (3) (Continuing education; license renewal) of the KBHA Statutes and Regulations: “A nontraditional or alternative educational program shall be defined as one that is not presented in the typical conference setting. Educational programs may be provided by any print medium or presented through the internet or other electronic medium… A maximum of six contact hours each reporting year may be obtained from nontraditional or alternative educational programs.” Our courses on the CEUs > Recorded Live Credit Course Schedule page and our Self-Directed (available 24/7) courses are accepted in Kansas as non-traditional courses.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Do you report to CE Broker?
Yes, we report all courses taken by Kansas RCPs to CE Broker. Please make sure you correctly list your Kansas state license when registering to use our website. If your license is expired we will not be able to report your courses. You will need to tell us when your expired license is restored to active status by using the Contact Us form on our website. You may also use this form to list multiple state licenses you possess so that we may report your courses taken to other state boards that utilize CE Broker.
Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the Kansas Board of Healing Arts (KBHA)?
Our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the KBHA. To see our AARC approvals click here.
How much does my renewal cost?
License renewal is $75 ($72 online). An initial license is $80.
Kansas Board of Healing Arts (KBHA) (contact info on this page)
KBHA Statutes and Regulations (See Section 100-55-7 for Continuing Education Requirements)
The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.