When does my license expire?
Licenses must be renewed annually on or before the last day of the month in which initial licensure was granted.
When can I renew my license?
The North Carolina Respiratory Care Board (NCRCB) will notify a licensee at least 30 days in advance of the expiration of his or her license. RCPs are required to notify the NCRCB within 30 days of any change in address and/or practice site.
How do I renew my license?
See the NCRCB License Renewal link below.
How many CEUs does North Carolina require?
First, online CEUs are still allowed under the new rule, so RCPs may continue using approved online courses. Our courses on the CEUs > Recorded Live Credit Course Schedule page and our Self-Directed (available 24/7) courses are accepted as online courses. These courses qualify for 6 of your 12 required CEUs.
Second, according to the amended rule 21 NCAC 61 .0401 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS, at least six contact hours shall be obtained each reporting year from workshops, panel, seminars, lectures, or symposiums that provide for direct interaction between the speakers and the participants. As defined in 21 NCAC 61 .0401, a lecture is a “discourse given for instruction before an audience or through teleconference.” This allows for CEUs to be achieved in a live webinar. Our Real-Time Live Broadcasts qualify as a live webinar (CEUs > Real-Time Live Broadcast).
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Do you report to CE Broker?
In February 2023 CE Broker stated North Carolina is no longer using their service.
Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the North Carolina Respiratory Care Board (NCRCB)?
Our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the NCRCB. To see our AARC approvals click here.
How much does my renewal cost?
License renewal is $75. An initial license is $150.
North Carolina Respiratory Care Board (NCRCB) RCP Gateway (Contact info on bottom of page)
NCRCB Rules (on the Consumers menu click on Rules & Law and then Board Rules)
NCRCB Respiratory Care Practice Act (on the Consumers menu click on Rules & Law and then General Statutes)
The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.