Respiratory License Renewal – New Jersey

When does my license expire?

New Jersey respiratory licenses expire on March 31 of odd numbered years.

When can I renew my license?

The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Respiratory Care (SBRC) will send a notice of renewal to each licensee, at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the license.

How do I renew my license?

Follow the instructions in the renewal packet.

How many CEUs does New Jersey require?

Each license holder must complete 30 hours of continuing education. Those hours must include:

  1. At least one continuing education credit in infection control
  2. At least one continuing education credit in patient safety/medical errors
  3. At least one continuing education credit in ethics
  4. At least 20 continuing education credits in other respiratory care clinical practices; and
  5. any remaining credits in any health care related field.

Can I get all of my CEUs online?

You can obtain all of your CEUs online. We offer Live courses. See our Discounts page for special offers (including Unlimited CEUs).

Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the State Board of Respiratory Care (SBRC)?

Our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the SBRC.

How much does my renewal cost?

License renewal is $160. An initial license is $285.

Resource Links

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Respiratory Care (SBRC) (Contact info on this page)

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs License Search

Respiratory Care Regulations (Subchapter 7 License Renewals)

Respiratory Care Regulations (Subchapter 10 Continuing Education)

SBRC Respiratory Care Statutes

New Jersey Society for Respiratory Care

The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.

Back to State CE Requirements