Respiratory License Renewal – Minnesota

When does my license expire?

Minnesota licenses expire two years after the date of initial licensure and every two years thereafter.

When can I renew my license?

Online renewal is available two months before your current license expiration date.

How do I renew my license?

Go to the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice (MBMP) website below in Resource Links. Select Online Services from the menu bar, then click on My Services or Log In, then click on New Users Register Here to start. Once you are on the Log In page, you need to register first. In the renewal notice letter you received from the Board, you will find a Security Code. You need that Security Code to register with the Board’s Online Service.

How many CEUs does Minnesota require?

Each licensed respiratory therapist must complete at least 24 hours of Board-approved continuing education every two years as a condition of licensure renewal. Newly licensed respiratory therapists commence their two year cycle on July 1 immediately following the date the licensure was granted.

Can I get all of my CEUs online?

The board accepts continuing education programs that have been approved by the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) or the Minnesota Society for Respiratory Care.

Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the MBMP?

Our courses are AARC approved and accepted by the MBMP. We offer both Live and Self-Directed courses. See our Discounts page for special offers.

How much does my renewal cost?

License renewal is $90. An initial license is $223.35.

Resource Links

MBMP (contact info on bottom of page)

MBMP – Renew Your License

Minnesota Statutes – Continuing Education Requirements

Minnesota Statutes – Respiratory Therapist Practice Act

Minnesota Society for Respiratory Care

The information contained in this document was as accurate as possible at the time of publication. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither the author, Respiratory Associates, nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.

Back to State CE Requirements