When does my license expire?
All licenses must be renewed every year and continuing education is due to be reported every two years on the even years. 2018 is a CEU reporting year. You must take your CEUs prior to September 30, 2018 and report them to the board along with your 2019 renewal application in November or December 2018.
When can I renew my license?
License renewal applications are mailed during October. Online renewal is available on November 1 and runs through December 31st.
How do I renew my license?
Please see your license renewal notice for instructions on how to renew your license.
How many CEUs does West Virginia require?
You are required to obtain 20 CEUs from 10/1 of one even year through 9/30 of the next even year (Example: 10/1/14 through 9/30/16). This is called a 24 months accrual period. You will report the CEUs to the office when you submit your Renewal Application for the upcoming new year during November or December of even years.
Courses must be relevant to the clinical practice of respiratory care. The board has pre-approved providers of acceptable CEUs listed in the Series 3 of the WV Respiratory Care Act, including the AARC, AMA, ALA, NBRC, WVSRC, ANA, AHA, and Government Offerings.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Yes. Programmed instruction, presented in respiratory care or in other appropriate professional journals, and non-interactive internet or “home study” courses approved through a national organization can be used to fulfill a portion of your CE requirements. NO MORE than one half of your required amount of CE’s may be accrued using this method in any one accrual period. WVBORC or AARC approved internet “interactive” courses will count as “live” courses. *Note: Currently the WVBORC has approved the courses of only three companies/organizations which may offer the full 20 CEU’s via “home study” or “interactive internet”; AARC, Medical Education Systems, RC Educational Consulting Service.
100% of your courses may be completed on our website, but only half may be self-directed. Half or more must be LIVE courses.
Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the West Virginia Respiratory Board?
Our courses are AARC approved and therefore accepted for license renewal in West Virginia.
How much does my renewal cost?
$55 postmarked in November or $65 postmarked in December.
Board Contact Information
The information contained in this document was as accurate as possible at the time of publication. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither the author, Respiratory Associates of Texas, nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.