Respiratory License Renewal – Oregon

Discount CEU Offers

Check out our most affordable options, including Unlimited CEUs! View our Discounts page here.

When does my license expire?

Please check your license for the expiration date.

When can I renew my license?

You can renew your license within 45 days of the expiration date.

How do I renew my license?

Note: You cannot renew online:

  • If you have current or unresolved disciplinary action(s) against you
  • If you are attempting to renew more than 45 days before the expiration date
  • If you are attempting to renew late (past your authorization-to-practice expiration date)

Respiratory Therapists and Polysomnographic Technologists are required to take and attest to having taken the Oregon Health Authority’s (OHA) Health Care Workforce Survey online at the time of their renewals. This survey must be taken within 45 days prior to their license expiration date. The license renewal process is not complete if the survey has not been taken.

To renew your license, all you need to start is your license, certification or registration information, as well as your credit card. After you click Renew Now, you will be guided through the online renewal process. After you have completed your renewal, you will be provided with a confirmation page. Please print the confirmation page as your receipt, which will provide verification of your authorization for 30 days from the renewal date. If you do not receive your permanent authorization to practice by postal mail after 20 days, contact the Health Licensing Office (HLO).

If you do not receive your authorization to practice within the 30 day period and the HLO has on record that the license was mailed to you, you must submit a written request for a replacement license and pay a $25 fee.

How many CEUs does Oregon require?

A licensee is required to complete seven hours of Board-approved continuing education every year. At least 2.5 hours of the required continuing education hours must be related to clinical practice of respiratory care defined under ORS 688.800.

Can I get all of my CEUs online?

You can obtain all of your CEUs online. We offer Live courses. See our Discounts page for special offers (including Unlimited CEUs).

Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the Oregon Health Authority (OHA)?

Yes, our courses are approved by the AARC and therefore accepted for license renewal by the OHA.

How much does my renewal cost?

Renewals are $50 per year, or $45 for online renewal.

Resource Links

Oregon Health Authority (OHA) – Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board

OHA Contact Us

Oregon Health Licensing Office (OHLO) License Search

OHLO Renew My License

OHLO Continuing Education Requirements

OHLO Laws and Rules

Oregon Society for Respiratory Care

The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.

Back to State CE Requirements