Respiratory License Renewal – New York

When does my license expire?

New York respiratory registration certificates expire on a triennial basis (every 3 years). Your registration certificate lists your name, address, and dates of the registration period.

When can I renew my license?

The New York State Education Department Office of the Professions Respiratory Therapy (NYSED OP RT) will mail a renewal form approximately 120 days prior to your registration expiration date. Please make certain the office has your current mailing address.

How do I renew my license?

Use the renewal form mailed to you or see the NYSED OP Online Renewal link under Resource Links below.

How many CEUs does New York require?

Respiratory therapists must take 30 contact hours of continuing education in each three-year registration period.

Respiratory therapy technicians must take 24 contact hours of continuing education in each triennium.

Can I get all of my CEUs online?

You can obtain all of your CEUs online. We offer Live courses. See our Discounts page for special offers (including Unlimited CEUs).

Are your courses approved by both the AARC and the NYSED OP RT?

Yes, our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the NYSED OP RT.

How much does my renewal cost?

Respiratory Therapist: $207 Registration Renewal fee plus a $30 Continuing Education fee. An initial license is $294.

Respiratory Therapy Technician: $130 Registration Renewal fee plus a $24 Continuing Education fee. An initial license is $154.

Resource Links

New York State Education Department Office of the Professions Respiratory Therapy (NYSED OP RT)

NYSED OP RT Contact Info

NYSED OP License Search

NYSED OP RT License Requirements

NYSED OP Online Renewal

NYSED OP RT Continuing Education Questions

NYSED OP General Information & Policies (including address and name changes)

NYSED OP RT Laws, Rules & Regulations

New York Society for Respiratory Care

The information contained on this page was as accurate as possible at the time it was researched. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither Respiratory Associates nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our CEU courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.

Back to State CE Requirements