When does my license expire?
Licenses expire on the last day of the month in which the licensee was born.
When can I renew my license?
Licenses must be renewed within 8 weeks of your current expiration date.
How do I renew my license?
Licenses are renewed by submitting to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME) a renewal application in a format prescribed by the board, the renewal fee, and documentation of at least ten (10) contact hours of approved CEUs completed during the last twelve months. Renewal applications and instructions may be obtained from the board’s web page (see Resource Links below) or upon personal or written request to the board.
How many CEUs does Louisiana require?
Louisiana requires at least 10 CEU hours.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Are your courses approved by both the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) and the LSBME?
Yes, our courses are approved by the AARC and accepted by the LSBME.
How much does my renewal cost?
License renewal is $85. An initial license is $125 plus a $38 background check.
LSBME Laws (Continuing Education – Respiratory Therapy §3357.1)
The information contained in this document was as accurate as possible at the time of publication. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither the author, Respiratory Associates, nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.