When does my license expire?
California licenses expire every two years on the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
When can I renew my license?
You can renew your license within 90 days of expiration.
How do I renew my license?
You can renew your license either by mail or online using the California Department of Consumer Affairs BreEZe website.
How many CEUs does California require?
During your first renewal, you are only required to complete 15 hours. For every following renewal, you are required to complete 30 hours.
Additionally, you are required to complete a Respiratory Care Board of California (RCBC) approved Law and Professional Ethics course as part of your CE during every other renewal cycle. This course can only be taken through the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) or the California Society for Respiratory Care. Completion of this ethics course will count for 3 CE hours towards the existing requirement. You can check the board’s license search system at the link below to determine if ethics is due as part of your renewal.
Can I get all of my CEUs online?
Are your courses approved by the AARC and accepted by the RCBC?
Our courses are AARC approved and accepted by the RCBC.
How much does my renewal cost?
Renewals in California cost $300. An initial license is $300. A fingerprint fee of $50 applies to out-of-state applicants.
The information contained in this document was as accurate as possible at the time of publication. It is possible that errors exist or that current license requirements have changed. We encourage corrections and comments and will make modifications accordingly. Neither the author, Respiratory Associates, nor any other individual or institution, except the person renewing their license, is responsible or liable for any consequences of its use. You are encouraged to read your state licensure requirements from the primary source, e.g. state website. If any of our courses are rejected by your state licensing authority our sole remedy will be a refund.